Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

My Deployment Slump

2 Comments

As I posted on Facebook last week, I’ve been in a bit of a slump lately. Nothing major, just your average ordinary slump. I miss my sailor. I miss having back-up with the kids, and I miss having someone to vent all my frustrations with. I just plain miss him, and that’s okay. It’s a natural part of deployment, and I know how important it is to remind myself that feeling sad and lonely is okay. However, I also know that I’m not the best mom, wife, friend, and person I can be when I’m wallowing in a “poor me party.” Lucky for me this weekend boasted all I needed to pull me out of the dumps and push back into my “I got this!

How did I get out of my slump?

  1. Sunshine and fresh air. This weekend was a magnificent, and I soaked up the sunshine all weekend! On Saturday, I took the girls to the park, and we all enjoyed some time in the sun. Fresh air always makes me feel better, and after a week of cloudy days, I really needed that shot of Vitamin D from above!
  2. Volunteering. If you know me, you know volunteering is my jam. Seriously. PTO, Girl Scouts, FRG, Compass, Ombudsman, Room Mom, or Team Mom … I’ve done them all! If there’s a volunteer spot, I want to fill it because it feels great to help people! This weekend I volunteered to fill baskets at my local Bountiful Baskets site. Not only did I get my helping fix, I also met some new people and felt a sense of community. I struggle with a feeling of “not fitting in” here in Washington, but for some reason, on that day, counting out peppers and pomegranates, I felt like part of something local.
  3. Spending time with friends. Also on Saturday I spent time with the spouses of my Family Readiness Group for a really fun social event. Just being around people, good people, who know what I’m going through right at this moment made me feel better. It’s always good to know you’re not alone.
  4. Remember what’s important. On Sunday afternoon, the last day of the last official weekend of Fall, I took my girls down to the water for a quick photo shoot. I wanted to have a few pics to remind us all how beautiful summers are in Washington when we’re in the thick of the rainy season. The photos came out great! Plus we all got a little more sun on our skin, and we had fun doing it!

IMG_9581b

Last week was tough. It hurts to miss someone you love so much, and it hurts to be in those slumps because then the blues build up. I was sad because I missed him so I was grumpy to my kids. Then my kids were grumpy so we were all arguing a bit more, and when there’s arguing going on my home, I’m certainly going to have less patience with the world around me, and that just opens up a whole new can of worms. It stinks. Plain and simple. That’s why it’s important to recognize when you’re in a slump and be prepared with your own list of things that always make you happy. I know that I need sunshine and people more than anything. Lucky for me, I was able to enjoy both all weekend long and come out of my slump in no-time!

Do you know your own signs of a slump? What are they, and what do YOU do about it?

 

2 thoughts on “My Deployment Slump

  1. I have so been there before. Sometimes I would take my boys out, even just to the park. Other times I would just write in my journal or plan some girl time. I think it is good you can tell when you are in a slump and find ways to get out of it.

    Like

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

