Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

Sink, Survive, or Thrive: Week 1

2 Comments

Last week was a bit rough. My oven broke, my new dog is STILL pooping on the carpet, and oh yeah … I freaking miss my husband. Despite all that, today I choose to thrive.

Sink, Survive, or Thrive

I’ve been Navy wife for a long time, and I’ve been through more patrols than I’d like to count (though the hubs likes to remind this is number 14). Over time I’ve noticed a few trends.

  1. I cope better when I’m happy. Duh. Patrol is easiest when you’re happy, right? Of course, but what I mean is when I am already happy, disappointments, let downs, or struggles are easier to handle. If I wake up in a good mood, enjoy a great cup of coffee, and get everyone to school dressed, prepared, and on time, a flat tire on the way home – as much as it sucks – is one bad thing in a day full of pretty darn good. Whereas if I wake up late, run out of coffee filters, and run late for everything, that flat tire is going to end with me shaking my fists at the heavens and yelling curse words at Big Navy.
  2. I’m happy when I’m in control of things. This is another “duh” if you know me, amiright? When I have a clear vision for the day including a to do list, a schedule, and a plan, I feel in control, and once again, when I feel in control of most things a few “out of control” moments are easier to manage.
  3. I’m in control when I plan to be in control. My very best days begin with a good cup of coffee and clean sheet of paper. I make a list of any housework I need to do (dishes, laundry, etc), lists to the side if I need to pick things up at the store, and a list of appointments (from preschool drop-off to FRG meetings to swim meets). I check things off as the day goes by, and by the end of the day I have a visual reminder that I’m getting it done. On the other hand, if I have no plan, things get missed/forgotten/messed up, and by the end of the day, all I have to show for it is a bad mood.

 

I guess what I’m saying is that a big part of thriving is choosing to thrive. You have to decide how to make yourself happy, and do that with purpose. Your happy make not come in the same way mine does. You may not need control and lists and schedules. Maybe you need free time. Maybe you need music. Maybe you need a weekly coffee date with friends. The point is take stock of what makes you happy and do that thing often. Make a conscious effort to be happy, and you will thrive.

Last night I set my coffee maker up in advance set I could wake up to the aroma of my favorite brew. I left my favorite notebook, my calendar, and a new pen next to my laptop beside my favorite chair. I put away the last load of laundry before I feel asleep. I am ready for the day, and I already feel great. Bring it on, world!

Because today I choose to thrive.

-Jodi

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sink, Survive, or Thrive: Week 1

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

