Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

Explaining Duty to a Three Year Old

1 Comment

Explaining Duty to a Three Year Old

Alli had a rough time during Josh’s last deployment. While she has always asked about him during deployment and missed him like any kid misses their daddy, this was the first time that she really understood just how long he was gone. Daddy came up randomly throughout the day every single day while he was gone.

When we drove past any body of water … “Is that the same ocean my Daddy is in?”

When we baked cookies for the Cookie Party or to leave out for Santa… “Are we going to save a cookie for Daddy, too?”

And, of course, any time she got in trouble … “BUT I MISS MY DADDY!”

(PS. I stopped falling for that trick two kids ago …)

It was sweet and sad, but to be honest, after a while it just wears on your nerves. There are only so many ways you can explain to a three year old where Daddy is and what Daddy’s doing, and saying the same thing over and over and over and over … well that became the norm for this patrol. Her questions, my same rote answers, and me going a little more insane every single day.

But then came homecoming, and I thought I would get a break. He’s home! No more questions, right?

(Picture me laughing maniacally … cause I am … because I am truly going insane …)

Yesterday morning, Josh left before Alli woke up. I’m not sure if she noticed right away, but before we left for preschool she said, “When is Daddy going to wake up?”

“Umm … three hours ago?” (I know, sarcasm is wasted on preschoolers. I can’t help myself sometimes.)

I then explained that Daddy is on duty. He went to work very early and has to stay on the boat overnight. All the daddies take turns having duty so they can make sure the submarine is safe and running great for the next time they have to go under the ocean. This is not the first time we’ve had this conversation (not even the first time this week), but she seemed to accept it and so we continued on to preschool.

Later when I picked her up, Alli was her normal bouncy, bubbly self. She giggled while telling me about snacktime and the silly book Miss Teresa had read during Circle Time. I heard that this child was sick and that child was the Hoppy Helper. I got the full gazette of everything that happened during the three hours of my freedom she was in school all on the walk from her class to the car.

So sweet …

But as soon as we got in the car to come home, a little voice from the back said, “Mommy? Where is my Daddy?”

Deep sigh … muster patience … do not go insane …

Give the schpeel one.more.time …

“Like I said before, Daddy is on duty. He went to work very early and has to stay on the boat overnight. All the daddies take turns having duty so they can make sure the submarine is safe and running great for the next time they have go under the ocean.”

A little giggle from the backseat … “So Daddy is on … (laughing a little louder now) … POOPIE?!?

Sigh …

Perhaps sarcasm isn’t lost of this preschooler.

One thought on “Explaining Duty to a Three Year Old

  1. Haha, how cute!

    My daughter really misses her daddy when he’s gone too.

    Like

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

