Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

Do You Elf?

2 Comments

Sigh … ever since I heard about these little guys, I have been 100% against them.

elf

I think they are kind of creepy looking …

elf2

I think they are a lot of work, coming up with all the ideas to place them each day …

elf3

And I think it’s weird when people make them do things like … well, just google “elf on the shelf” or even “naughty elf on the shelf.” It’s weird and creepy and certainly NOT for kids.

But then I saw this story about a mom and dad who dedicate November (or Dinovember) to convincing their kids that their toy dinosaurs come to life while they are sleeping. Why? According to this article, “Because in the age of iPads and Netflix, we don’t want our kids to lose their sense of wonder and imagination.”

dino

Source

I kind of love that. A lot. Like A LOT A LOT.

And because I’ve been thinking of Christmas a lot already and trying to bring Christmas back to the wonder and spirit of the season and away from the hurry-hurry and the gimme-gimme of it all, I thought once again of this little guy.

elf4

I’m considering it … I think Alli might get a kick out him, and I think Aubrey and Sydney might like to take turns helping me with him. I don’t know. I’ve been so against him for a while now … can I really do a 180 and bring the little creeper into our house and traditions?

What do you think? Do you have an Elf on the Shelf or something like it? How do you keep the magic of Christmas? Wanna vote on whether my family gets an elf? πŸ™‚

 

2 thoughts on “Do You Elf?

  1. The first few years I didn’t want anything to do with it and then last year I caved and bought an elf. The girls LOVE it. I’m not sure how long Madison will actually believe its a magic elf but the fun of coming downstairs in the morning and going on the hunt for Snowflake brings them so much joy. Zoey would shriek and laugh when she found the elf last year and I’m so excited to do it again this year. There were the occasional nights where I completely forgot and woke up in a cold sweat at 2am and rushed around to move the elf. This year with the move smack dab in the middle of December I had to do a little more prep work. My planner is full of our busy life at the moment so I figured why not plan the elf antics in there too. It didn’t take me long to flip through Pinterest and plan out every night either. Some days are more exciting than others but its still fun no matter what for the girls.

    Like

  2. I resisted it at first, but then I gave in and our elf came to live with us two years ago. His name is Ironman the Elf (he has a sharpie goatee and a taped-on arc reactor to prove it), and he comes for only a few weeks and is quite tame compared to the Elves of Pinterest. Our elf is more of a hide and seek elf, which it totally fun for the boys to have to search high and low for him ever morning and it’s a lot less work for me. They still get the fun and magic of having the elf and I don’t have to stay up until 3am planning elaborate elf scenarios involving marshmallows or whatever. I consider it a win-win πŸ™‚

    Like

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

