Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

Cheap and Green: A Funny Fail

Leave a comment

I haven’t written any Cheap and Clean blog posts in a while. In fact, I think I only wrote one, but I have one to share today, and it’s … well … special.

Cheap and Green

Last weekend my husband was doing laundry (lucky me! I know!), and he turned to me and said, “Do we have more stain remover? We’re almost out.”

I stopped buying most cleaning products a while back so I knew we had none. I told him the same and said, “Let me see if I can DIY some!”

I did a little research, found tons of recipes, and decided to sort of just pick one. SO I did.

1 part peroxide

1 part baking soda

2 parts water

Easy enough, right? Yes! We mixed up about half a bottle. We used it. Everything seemed to come out nice and stain free.

In fact it was ALL GOOD until the next time the husband did laundry.

He opened the cabinet to get the bottle and yelled, “WHAT THE HELL!”

The mixture had EXPLODED all over everything!!!

No kidding. Everything in the cabinet was wet. Luckily there wasn’t anything in the cabinet that couldn’t simply be wiped off, and since I’d had all the ingredients on hand I wasn’t out any money.

 I’ve since learned that …

“Hydrogen peroxide is acidic. Any acid will react with baking soda to make carbon dioxide.”

It’s that reaction that makes it a great stain remover. Since I had screwed the lid onto the bottle REALLY tight … well … all that Carbon Dioxide built up and … had to go somewhere … all.over.my.cabinet.

So for this Cheap and Green experiment, I grade the recipe itself an A! It did exactly what it was meant to do to the clothes!

However for the silly person who tried it without thinking (aka ME), an F!!!

Sometimes Cheap and Green is a cautionary tale … 🙂

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

