Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

September Grocery Challenge – Week 4

Leave a comment

As a reminder …

The strategies am I trying out this month include:

  1. Weekly meal planning and shopping
  2. Recipes with just a few ingredients
  3. One meatless meal per week
  4. One weekly throwaway meal (a meal that I don’t have to “cook” but keeps us away from McD’s)
  5. Coupons

My Grocery Challenge goal for the month is to spend only $100 per week on groceries. This amount will include ALL our groceries and food EXCEPT Josh’s lunches. 

WEEK 3 UPDATE: 

fail

I started the week with a budget fail ($25 over budget after coupons). Then a busy week hit, and we ate McDonald’s once and ordered pizza once as well (although I have a hard time calling the pizza night a fail because YUM!). On top of that I also had to run out ran out for “just a few things” multiple times. So yeah, FAIL.

The only wins of the week were having more coupons than usual and somehow using much less milk. Normally we drink 6 gallons a week, and this week I had a whole gallon left!

WEEK 4:

This week’s menu looks something like this:

  1. Taco Soup
  2. Pineapple/BBQ sausage, mac & cheese, & veg
  3. Chicken parm sandwiches and fries
  4. Italian Herb chicken legs, rice, & veg
  5. Pasta & garlic bread
  6. Salisbury Steak, mashed potatoes, & veg
  7. Pizza

(I’m taking one commenter’s suggestion and just planning seven meals since we never stick to the Sunday – Saturday order I plan anyways. I bought fresh & frozen veggies; I’ll decide what to prepare when I decide what meal we’re eating.)

Breakfasts will be eggs and bacon or pancakes (on the weekends) and cereal or mini-bagels (during the week).

Lunch choices will be turkey or ham wraps or homemade peanut butter & honey uncrustables; apples or grapes ; and cucumbers, broccoli, carrots, or grape tomatoes; peanuts or almonds; and some kind of crackers. (Our lunches are GROWING! My super swimmer needs a ton ore calories on swim days!)

This week I am determined to stick with the meal plan and stay AWAY from fast food and takeout pizza. I definitely felt those extra heavy meals and not just in the budget. The day after Mickey D’s I woke up feeling crummy, and I know it was because of what I ate. Back to the meal plan for me!

Also I’m already over-budget for the week. I spent about $115, but here’s what. I’ve checked and re-checked my list and stressed about it, and then my husband said something so simple and so right. $100 isn’t enough for us. Plain and simple. Because I buy so much fresh produce and so much milk, because I make all our meals (except his lunches) at home, I just need to re-think that amount. Throughout the week, I’ll put more thought into and likely change my goal for October. More on that next week!

Any other suggestions for my budget woes?

 

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

