Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

Thursday Thoughts: Success

2 Comments

I’m linking up today with Wife of a Sailor for Thursday Thoughts! Click over to catch up with some great milspouse bloggers!

thursday-thoughts

The “success” on my mind these days is that of my kids in their upcoming school year. The theme of 2013 so far has been “The Best  (insert activity here) Ever.” We’ve planned and rocked out the Best Birthday Parties ever and the Best Summer ever, and I really want to continue that into the school year! WOOHOO!

The problem is I’m having a hard time figuring out how to make that happen … or rather what MY PART in making that happen should be. Birthday parties are simple. A sleepover, an evening at the mall with friends, or a party at the pool are all clear and easy to plan, and because I consider the party part of my gift to my kids, I get to plan the whole thing. Easy. Done. Summer fun is pretty easy, too. It was a lot of work, but I stretched all my resources and googling prowess to their very limits, found awesome activities (that were also very affordable), and then dragged my family to the fun! Easy and done!

But what’s my part of making this school year a success? I can’t do the work for my kids. I can’t make them want to achieve. What can I do?

I’ve already bought all the supplies they’ll need (except those ever illusive perfect  lunch bags) and a good running start on school wardrobes. I made sure they are registered at their new schools and drove them to pick up schedules and take school pictures. What now?

We’re working on ways to improve our very-early-morning-routine and always-too-hurried-evening-schedules. I’m brainstorming how to incorporate a chore schedule into the homework/club/swim routines. I’m trying to figure out ways that I can encourage them and help them, but I feel like it isn’t enough … not a good way to start The Best School Year Ever.

Do you have any tips for success? What makes the school year a success in your eyes?

2 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Success

  1. I’m pretty new to the school routine business, so I don’t really have any tips, but something I’ve already had slap me in the face is that how I always defined success at school (good grades, good attendance, good behavior) isn’t at ALL how Zachary defines it. For him it’s more about social interaction, liking his teacher, making friends and being really INTERESTED in what’s going on. So while I’m never going to give up good grades or behavior, I’ve learned to direct my questions and responses about his day mainly to what he considers important. I get more answers that way 😉 Sorry I just wrote a novel in your comments section. P.S. I like the new blog look!

    Like

    • That’s a great way to look at it! My idea of success probably IS a little different (read; more intense …lol) than my kids’. 🙂

      And I love the “book” and thank you! I’m playing around with things again … I do that every couple of months! I have never found one theme or designed that really held my attention for long, but I REALLY like this one!

      Like

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

