Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

It’s Okay to Be Okay

4 Comments

Airing My Dirty Laundry is one of my most favorite blogs, and the fact that she is a military spouse, too, is just the icing on the cake! I always enjoy her weekly series, “Hey, It’s Okay Tuesday!” and have wanted to link up for a while now. My “It’s Okay’s” tend to be deployment-related. If you’d like to read more of them, just search “It’s Okay” in the form to the right.

it's okay to be okay

  1. It’s okay to learn to fix a few things on your own. During this sea tour I’ve learned to unclog a garbage disposal, replace a serpentine belt, replace windshield wipers, fix wall trim … The list goes on and on. Things break while our sailors deploy. It’s a good thing to be able to fix some things yourself.
  2. It’s okay to revel in watching all your own shows. At least in my house, my sailor keeps a white-knuckle grip on the remote when he’s home, and I can assure his choices DON’T lean toward the Real Housewives like mine do …
  3. It’s okay to love that you can cook all your own favorite meals … or not cook so very often while your sailor is gone. As soon as Josh leaves, I always make Sloppy Joes! We love ’em; he hates ’em. He leaves; we eat ’em!
  4. Its okay to enjoy Girls Night Out while the guys are gone. I have a friend who has all daughters like me, and we like to have a huge sleepover, moms and daughters, while the boys are gone. We may or may not enjoy a few drinks after the kids go to bed … just sayin’.
  5. It’s okay to enjoy having that big ole bed all to yourself. (I eat crackers in my bed when he’s gone ’cause when he’s home he HATES that. lol)

I guess what I’m saying is that while some might imagine that I miss my sailor every second of every minute of every day that he’s gone, well …  you would be right! But missing him doesn’t mean I have to sit at home for months at a time pining away. My motto is “I Will Survive?!? No thanks! I will THRIVE!”

 

One more thing … it’s MORE than okay to click over and enjoy Airing My Dirty Laundry. 🙂

4 thoughts on “It’s Okay to Be Okay

  1. Oh yes, I’ve learned to fix a bunch of stuff on my own. And I like being able to watch my shows in peace.

    Like

  2. One of the things I enjoy the most, is that I don’t have to make the bed with hospital corners! Personally, I love being able to pick up my feet and tuck the covers underneath them!

    Like

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

