Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

It’s Okay When He’s Leaving

2 Comments

Airing My Dirty Laundry is one of my most favorite blogs, and the fact that she is a military spouse, too, is just the icing on the cake! I always enjoy her weekly series, “Hey, It’s Okay Tuesday!” and have wanted to link up for a while now but couldn’t figure out a “Back on Land” kind of spin on things. This is my third attempt; please check out my other attempts here and here!

Those days and weeks before deployment can be as emotional as the months when he’s gone. In my humble opinion, it’s okay …

  1. To be pissed at the Navy for taking your sailor away … for the first time, yet again, or one more time …
  2. To be pissed at your sailor for leaving, even though you know it’s his job and he has no choice … (I said it’s okay; I didn’t say it was completely rational.)
  3. To want to spend every single moment with your sailor … “You want to go play softball? No! Stay home with me!”
  4. To argue with your sailor over the dumbest things … “No it’s YOUR turn to take out the trash! I’ll be doing it for MONTHS!”
  5. To be jealous of your friends whose sailors/husbands aren’t deployed …
  6. To feel scared about your own safety … “He’s leaving me alone in this house? I don’t have an alarm or guard dog!”
  7. To be lonely … already …
  8. To fantasize about some imaginary reason that your sailor can’t leave …
  9. To feel ready for him to just leave! The work up to a deployment can be exhausting …
  10. To feel sad, lonely, depressed, mad, fed up, relieved, or even detached. Deployment brings out ALL KINDS of emotions. The important thing to remember is that all kinds of emotions are normal; just don’t let them get the best of you.

It’s also important to make sure you make up for any arguments or bad feelings with your sailor before he leaves. Starting a patrol or deployment with an “I love you” is the perfect start to a successful time apart.

One more thing … it’s MORE than okay to click over and enjoy Airing My Dirty Laundry. 🙂

2 thoughts on “It’s Okay When He’s Leaving

  1. I understand about all of this. I especially get the safety thing. I do freak out at night at times.

    Like

    • I don’t usually *freak* about safety, but I have certainly had my moments late at night when I hear strange noises… eek!

      Like

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

