Back on Land

He deploys, and I make a life back on land.

Testing, Testing, 1, 2

Leave a comment

I’m a busy mom of three busy kids. Every day of the week is filled with practices and meetings and field trips. I am on the go a lot. I am also the wife of a sailor stationed aboard a submarine which means as often as not, I do all those things in “single parent mode.” Naturally, I have a secret fear of getting hurt or being in some way incapacitated. It’s not something I obsess about, but it does cross my mind whenever I get sick or stub a toe or whatever.

Dun dun duuuunnnn…

If you read this post, you are already aware of my theory on Subspouse Law. If you read this post, you know I have a plan in place in case of any sort of emergency. If you know anything about fate, you know that simply by posting those two items, I tempted her. And sometimes she’s a bitch.

Dun dun DUUUUNNNN…

Last week I was trying to clean up and clean out, and I had a large old tube TV in my cross hairs.  I got it in my head to donate it to an FRG yard sale. I just needed to move it from the living room to my truck, but it’s really heavy.

DUN DUN DUUUUNNNN!!!!

To make a long boring story only short and boring

Big TV + Me and my favorite teen = A loud pop in my knee and a trip to the ER

Sigh …

The diagnosis is a partially torn meniscus and lateral ligament damage. Yay. Doctor’s orders include more rest, working on range of motion and limited weight-bearing, a new brace, more crutches, and a follow-up in 3 weeks. Woohoo. I am not thrilled with the diagnosis I got (I really was hoping for “suck it up and shake it off!”), but it is better than the diagnosis I read on Google (I know, I know, never Google an injury, Jodi!). Surgery isn’t completely off the table, but it’s far enough back that I’m not worried.

The good news is that the Lord works in mysterious ways. I may not always know what’s going on, but He always has a plan. Just nine days ago, I freaked myself out with a faux-illness and spent a feverish fifteen minutes planning how to care for my family if surgery was needed. Coincidence? I think not. It’s all part of His plan. My daughter even told me, “Mom, maybe this is the universe’s way of telling you to slow down!” I have been incredibly busy and more than a little stressed lately, and I have felt that because of my activities, my kids were kinda getting the shaft a bit. So, whether doctor enforced or not, I got to spend an awesome weekend snuggled on the couches with my babies laughing and talking and watching movies.

The other good news is that the plans I created when I thought I was sick worked out very well and that I am blessed with a support network of wonderful friends! At nine o’clock on Wednesday night, I phoned my dear friend, Judy, and said, “I need a huge favor. I think I need to go to the ER.” She wasted no time with questions. She said, “I’ll be right there,” and she was. The following day another great friend took my to the pharmacy and made me smile while we waited. When an online grocery delivery service wasn’t working out, so many of my friends jumped in quickly to offer to shop for me, it was almost overwhelming! So thank you … all of the beautiful ladies who have helped me out lately and sent well wishes! I appreciate each and every one of you more than I could say in a blog!

The lesson here is simple. Accidents happen, even when our sailors are gone, and it is important to have a plan in place. It is equally important (or likely more so) to surround yourself with quality people who stick by you during rough times and to stick by them as well. Ladies, I owe you one (or, in some cases, two or three)! If you need anything, I am your gal!

Unless what you need requires walking. In that case I’m out … but I have a plan!

Like it. Share it. Leave a comment. LOOOOVE ME!!!

